Cubs is for boys and girls from 8  to 11 years of age, and gives them

an opportunity to:

  • Learn through participation in enjoyable activities and work as a contributing member of a team.

  • Develop creative skills and fitness and prepare members for entering new, different and challenging environments.

  • Develop an attitude of care and concern for others.

  • Provide a feeling of achievement.

  • Make choices and decisions, grow in self-discipline and self-respect and practice leadership skills.

  • Accept the Cub Scout Promise and participate in activities which will provide a standard against which they measure themselves.

  • Develop an awareness of God, and

  • Develop an appreciation of the history and ideals of the Scout Movement.


We do this through age appropriate activities based on: ADVENTURE, OUTDOORS, CHALLENGE, SERVICE, GAMES, ACTION, FUN, HIKES, CAMPS, FRIENDS and PERSONAL GROWTH

The Cub Scouts theme is based on the

Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling

Baden-Powell, the founder of Scouting, based Cub Scouting on one of the stories in Rudyard Kipling's Jungle Book. It was called "Mowgli's Brothers." We know it as "The Story of Akela and Mowgli." A copy of part of the story is in the Wolf Cub Scout Book.

A Cub Scout Leader is known as Akela (the wolf - one who stands alone) and assistant Cub Leaders choose a name from the Jungle Book, or a name in keeping with being Sea Scouts.

Cubs belong to Packs made up of six teams known as sixes. We have two (2) Cub Packs at 1st Woy Woy. The Eagle Cub Pack and The Panther Cub Pack. In these Cub Packs you will find up to six (6) sixes.

These sixes are led by a Sixer and their assistant is called a Second.

A Sixer is generally an older Cub Scout and is appointed by the Cub Scout Leader because of their known leadership qualities. The Sixer is liked and respected by others in the six. A Seconder is also an older Cub Scout chosen to aid the Sixer, eg. stand in for the Sixer and benefits from working with the Sixer. Sixers and their Six also have names from the Jungle Book. (See Mowgli's Brothers)


  • The Red Six is led by Red Fang

  • The White Six is led by White Claw

  • The Silver Six is led by Grey Brother

  • The Gold Six is led by Tawny Fur

  • The Brown Six is called Brown Tip 




The Grand Howl

Another very distinctive feature of how the Cub Scouts are related to the Jungle Book is the 'Grand Howl', a ceremony included in the opening and closing parade of each meeting.

The Cub Scout Award Scheme

The major components of the Cub Scout Award Scheme are the Bronze, Silver and Gold Boomerang badges. To earn each of these badges, Cub Scouts must complete at least ten challenges under the guidance of Leaders.

Cub Scouts can set challenges for themselves to earn Achievement Badges from the areas of Arts and Literature, Nature, Science and Technology, Sports and Recreation, and Our World. There are also a number of Special Interest badges.The ultimate badge for Cub Scouts is the Grey Wolf Award. This can only be attained by earning a certain number of badges from the other levels of the scheme as well as completing several additional challenges.


Boomerang Badges

The Boomerang badges are the major part of Cub Scout training and aim to develop skills and awareness in self-responsibility, outdoor Scouting, Scouting values and principles, creativity, personal pursuits and interests, and awareness of the Cub Scout’s local and global community.












There are three Boomerang levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. The Bronze Boomerang is the first part of the journey through the Cub Scout Award Scheme. If a Cub joins at around nine years of age they will probably start with the Silver Boomerang, in which the tasks are more challenging but build on the skills the Cub Scout has already learned. The Gold Boomerang is most suitable for Cub Scouts around 10 years of age.


To earn each of the Boomerang badges the Cub Scout must complete 10 out of 14 set tasks. Tasks 1-7 are compulsory, but the Cub can choose any three from the tasks numbered 8 to 14. The tasks can be completed in any order, except for number 7 (Promise and Law) which must be completed last and signed off by the Cub Scout Leader.


The 14 Boomerang Badge Tasks are:

1. Health and First Aid (Responsibility for Self)
2. Safety (Responsibility for Self)
3. Ropes (Outdoor Scouting)
4. Outdoor Scouting (Outdoor Scouting)
5. Our Cub Scout Traditions (Scouting Aims and Principles)
6. Symbols of Australia (Growing Awareness of Local Community)
7. Promise and Law (Values of Scouting)
8. Fitness (Pursuits and Interests & Responsibility for Self)
9. People and Cultures (Growing Awareness of Wider World)
10. Scientific Discovery (The World Around Us)
11. The Natural Environment (The World Around Us)
12. Self Expression (Creativity)
13. Handcraft (Creativity)
14. Your Community (Growing Awareness of Local Community)


Achievement Badges

Achievement badges give Cub Scouts the opportunity to concentrate on their areas of interest. There are 34 badges to choose from. Each badge has two levels (Green is Level 1 and Maroon is level 2) and the Cub Scout chooses which level they would like to achieve. There are four groups of Achievement badges.

Nature, Science & Technology

Sports & Recreation

Arts & Literature

Our World

Special Interest Badges

Grey Wolf Award

This is the pinnacle of achievement in the Cub Scout Section. To earn the Grey Wolf Award a Cub Scout must hold a Gold Boomerang badge, participate in a minimum of four outdoor activities and attend two Pack Councils in the previous 12 months, complete four Level 2 Achievement badges (one from each category) and one Special Interest badge.

These should be completed by the Cub Scout as an individual, rather than as a Pack activity.

Cub Leadership Awards

Cub Scouts who are nominated by a Leader may attend the Cub Scout Leadership Course for current and potential Sixers and Seconds. The aim of this course is to provide suitable skills in leadership, problem-solving, challenges and Pack Councils to Cub Scouts who may be appointed to leadership roles within their Packs.

Scout Link Badge

The Scout Link Badge links the Cub to the next step in their journey, the Scout Section. The Scout Leader and a Patrol Leader from the Scout Section jointly carry out the training and testing for the eight requirements of this badge.

Joeys meet Mondays 5-6pm

Cubs meet Mondays 6-7:30pm

Scouts meet Tuesdays 6:30-8:30pm

Venturers meet Wednesdays 7-9pm


  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Google+ page
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Find us at

2 North Burge Rd

Woy Woy NSW 2256

Just opposite Lions Park

& the Boat Ramp.